David Marlow Conductor

David Marlow Conductor

David Marlow was musical assistant to Andris Nelsons at the Bayreuth Festival from 2010 to 2015. Twice he stood in for Nelsons at short notice and due to the overwhelmingly positive resonance, further invitations followed quickly, including the Ulster Orchestra Belfast, the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, the Gelders Orkest and the Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest. From 2014 to 2020 David Marlow was principal conductor of the Vogtland Philharmonie. Since 2020 he has been teaching as professor for conducting at the Detmold University of Music. This season he is returning to the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, the Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie and the Südwestdeutsche Philharmonie Konstanz.

Representations: General management

Show Full Bio Back to Intro     Download    

David Marlow was musical assistant to Andris Nelsons at the Bayreuth Festival from 2010 to 2015. Twice he stood in for Nelsons at short notice: in 2011 for a performance of Puccini's Suor Angelica at the Konzerthaus Dortmund to great success and in 2015 for the Lohengrin rehearsals with the Concertgebouw Orkest Amsterdam with just a few days’ notice. Due to the overwhelmingly positive resonance, further invitations followed quickly, including the Ulster Orchestra Belfast, the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, the Gelders Orkest and the Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest. From 2014 to 2020 David Marlow was principal conductor of the Vogtland Philharmonie. Since 2020 he has been teaching as professor for conducting at the Detmold University of Music.

In recent years David Marlow has increasingly devoted himself to the symphonic repertoire, guest conducting a number of world class orchestras: Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Wiener Symphoniker, WDR Sinfonieorchester, NDR Radiophilharmonie, Duisburger Philharmoniker, Bochumer Symphoniker, Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester Frankfurt, Jenaer Philharmonie and the Neubrandenburger Philharmonie. This season he is returning to the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, the Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie and the Südwestdeutsche Philharmonie Konstanz.

After his studies in Detmold and Vienna, David Marlow began a classical opera career at the Theater Aachen, where he conducted works such as La Bohème, Otello and Lohengrin. This was followed by positions as First Kapellmeister in Chemnitz and Hagen with over 300 performances, including Peter Grimes, Madame Butterfly, Carmen, Faust, Hansel and Gretel, Don Carlos and Don Quichotte. He also conducted the German premieres of the operas Pinocchio by Jonathan Dove, Selma Jezkova by Paul Rouders and Lola rennt by Ludger Vollmer.

From 2010 to 2013 David Marlow was the chorus master of the WDR Rundfunkchor where he worked with conductors such as Jukka Pekka Saraste, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Kurt Masur, Daniel Harding, Howard Griffiths, Simon Halsey and Kent Nagano.

Both presenting and conducting concerts simultaneously – for instance the popular open-air event Summer in Lesmona for an audience of 3,000 – is one of David Marlow's special strengths, as are his educational projects with children, youths and adults. Since 2014, the passionate music educator has been bringing symphonic compositions to a wider audience on the classical music station WDR 3 and since 2020 also on SWR 2. A now considerable collection of over 30 broadcasts can be found online. Lectures on Beethoven to young games developers at the Cologne University of Technology, a concert in the Democratic Republic of Congo with members of the Kinshasa Symphony Orchestra and musicians of the WDR and BR Symphony Orchestras, as well as his current work as music supervisor for the film Louis van Beethoven for ARD – curiosity, enthusiasm and versatility are characteristic of David Marlow.

Show Full Bio Back to Intro     Download

David Marlow Dirigent

David Marlow Dirigent

Der Chefdirigent der Vogtland Philharmonie debütierte 2018 bei den Wiener Symphonikern, den Bochumer Symphonikern und bei der NDR Radiophilharmonie. Dazu setzt er die Zusammenarbeit mit dem WDR Sinfonieorchester, den Duisburger Philharmonikern, der Nordwestdeutschen Philharmonie und Het Gelders Orkest fort.

Vertretung: Generalmanagement

Gesamte Bio anzeigen Zurück zum Intro     Download    

David Marlow ist seit 2014 Chefdirigent der Vogtland Philharmonie. Von 2010 bis 2015 war er musikalischer Assistent von Andris Nelsons bei den Bayreuther Festspielen. Zweimal sprang er kurzfristig für Nelsons ein: 2011 übernahm er im Konzerthaus Dortmund mit großem Erfolg eine Aufführung von Puccinis Suor Angelica und 2015 aus dem Stand die Lohengrin-Proben beim Concertgebouw Orkest Amsterdam. Aufgrund des sehr positiven Echos folgten schnell weitere Einladungen, u.a. beim Ulster Orchestra Belfast, beim Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, beim Gelders Orkest und beim Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest.

Seit Übernahme der Chefdirigenten-Position bei der Vogtland Philharmonie liegt der Fokus von David Marlow auf der sinfonischen Musik. Inzwischen hat er als Gastdirigent eine Vielzahl bedeutender Orchester geleitet. So dirigierte er u.a. die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, die Wiener Symphoniker, das WDR Sinfonieorchester, die NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover, die Duisburger Philharmoniker, die Bochumer Symphoniker, das Brandenburgische Staatsorchester Frankfurt sowie die Jenaer und die Neubrandenburger Philharmonie. In dieser Saison führen ihn Wiedereinladungen zum Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, zur Nordwestdeutschen Philharmonie und zur Südwestdeutschen Philharmonie Konstanz.

Nach seinem Studium in Detmold und Wien startete David Marlow zunächst eine klassische Opern-Laufbahn am Theater Aachen, wo er Werke wie La Bohème, Otello und Lohengrin dirigierte. Es folgten Stationen als 1. Kapellmeister in Chemnitz und Hagen mit über 300 Vorstellungen, darunter Peter Grimes, Madame Butterfly, Carmen, Faust, Hänsel und Gretel, Don Carlos und Don Quichotte. Marlow leitete auch die deutschen Erstaufführungen der Opern Pinocchio von Jonathan Dove, Selma Jezkova von Paul Rouders und Lola rennt von Ludger Vollmers.

Von 2010 bis 2013 war David Marlow Chorleiter des WDR Rundfunkchores. Dort arbeitete er zusammen mit Dirigenten wie Jukka Pekka Saraste, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Kurt Masur, Daniel Harding, Howard Griffiths, Simon Halsey und Kent Nagano.

Moderierte Konzerte – wie beim Sommer in Lesmona vor 3.000 Zuschauern – sind eine besondere Stärke des passionierten Musikvermittlers, ebenso wie Education-Projekte mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen. Seit September 2014 bringt er auf WDR 3 und seit 2020 auch auf SWR 2 sinfonische Kompositionen einem breiteren Publikum näher. Eine inzwischen beachtliche Sammlung von über 30 WDR 3-Werkbetrachtungen ist online nachzuhören. Vorträge über Beethoven vor jungen Games-Entwicklern an der Technischen Hochschule Köln, ein Konzert in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo mit Mitgliedern des Kinshasa Symphony Orchestra und Musikern des WDR- und BR-Sinfonieorchesters, oder seine aktuelle Tätigkeit als Music Supervisor für den Film Louis van Beethoven für die ARD – Neugier, Begeisterungsfähigkeit und Vielseitigkeit sind charakteristisch für David Marlow.

Gesamte Bio anzeigen Zurück zum Intro     Download