Carlo Goldstein Conductor

Carlo Goldstein Conductor

Highlights of the 2019/20 season were the season opening at the Sydney Opera with La Bohème, a new production of Guglielmo Tell at the theatres of the OperaLombardia network and at the Teatro Verdi in Pisa as well as a concert performance of Cavalleria rusticana with Roberto Alagna and Aleksandra Kurzak in Palermo - the only opera performance at the summer festival "Sotto una nuova luce" by the Teatro Massimo. Goldstein was then immediately re-invited for the 2020/21 season. For the coming seasons we are in discussion with the BBC Philharmonic about Goldstein's debut, with the Sydney Opera about a re-invitation, with the Haifa Symphony Orchestra about a new production of L'elisir d'amore and with various Italian opera houses and orchestras.

Representations: general management

Show Full Bio Back to Intro     Download Bio    

Highlights of the 2019/20 season were the season opening at the Sydney Opera with La Bohème, a new production of Guglielmo Tell at the theatres of the OperaLombardia network and at the Teatro Verdi in Pisa as well as a concert performance of Cavalleria rusticana with Roberto Alagna and Aleksandra Kurzak in Palermo - the only opera performance during the summer festival "Sotto una nuova luce" at the Teatro Massimo. For the coming seasons we are in discussion with the BBC Philharmonic about Goldstein's debut, with the Sydney Opera about a re-invitation, with the Haifa Symphony Orchestra about a new production of L'elisir d'amore and with various Italian opera houses and orchestras.

In 2018 Carlo Goldstein made his debut at the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden (with works by Schönberg, Weber and Mendelssohn), at the Sydney Opera with Carmen as well as at the Daegu International Opera Festival in Korea with Turandot. After a symphony concert with works by Cresta, Prokofiev, Mahler and Rota Goldstein was re-invited to the Teatro Petruzzelli in Bari for a new production of La Traviata. Since 2014 he has been regularly invited back to Korea, most recently to the Seoul Arts Center and Busan Arts Center with Madama Butterfly and La Traviata and to the Daegu Opera House with Pagliacci.

In recent seasons Goldstein has conducted in Italy at the Teatro La Fenice in Venice and at the opera houses of Brescia, Como, Cremona, Livorno, Lucca, Pavia, Pisa and Reggio Emilia works such as Adriana Lecouvreur, Un ballo in maschera, La Bohème, Carmen, Così fan tutte, Turandot as well as Pagliacci at the summer festival of the Teatro Sociale di Como – a production that was awarded the prestigious Abbiati Prize. At the Festival della Valle d'Itria Goldstein conducted the world premiere of L'Orfeo. Immagini di una lontananza by Daniela Terranova, based on Luigi Rossi's L'Orfeo from 1642.

In addition to symphony concerts in Italy, e.g. with the Orchestra del Maggio Musicale, invitations have taken him to orchestras in Israel and Russia, including the St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra and the Hermitage Symphony Orchestra.

On top of his musical education (e.g. at the Salzburg Mozarteum and the Royal College of Music London) Goldstein obtained a degree in philosophy (aesthetics) from the University of Milan. He has published several articles on aesthetics and music history. In 2009 Carlo Goldstein was awarded first prize at the International Conductors' Competition in Graz. A portrait of him was produced in the Notevoli series of the Classica channel and broadcast on Sky Italia. Omer Meir-Wellber discovered Goldstein as an extraordinary talent and initially made him his assistant in Valencia and Vienna. Today, the two artists are collaborating on a regular basis.

Carlo Goldstein researches the works he conducts very thoroughly. In musical realisation, liveliness and coherence are more important to him than interpretational traditions. His interpretations are full of warmth and sensitivity and develop their special charm without false grandeur. He usually conducts operas by heart, carrying his singers on his hands and conducting them and the orchestra with sparkling vitality. Beyond being an adept Italian opera conductor, Goldstein has a profound knowledge of the – even remote – symphonic repertoire. And as an advocate of contemporary music, he has conducted numerous premieres of works by Italian and international composers, including at the Milano Musica Festival and with the MDI Ensemble.

Show Full Bio Back to Intro     Download Bio

Carlo Goldstein Dirigent

Carlo Goldstein Dirigent

Highlights der Saison 2019/20 waren die Saisoneröffnung an der Sydney Opera mit La Bohème, eine Neuproduktion von Guglielmo Tell an den Theatern des OperaLombardia-Verbundes und am Teatro Verdi in Pisa sowie eine konzerante Cavalleria rusticana mit Roberto Alagna und Aleksandra Kurzak in Palermo – als einzige Opernaufführung im Rahmen des Sommerfestials „Sotto una nuova luce“ am Teatro Massimo. Goldstein wurde daraufhin sofort für die Saison 2020/21 wiedereingeladen. Für die kommenden Saisons sind wir mit dem BBC Philharmonic über Goldsteins Debüt im Gespräch, mit der Sydney Opera über eine Wiedereinladung, mit dem Haifa Symphony Orchestra über eine Neuproduktion von L'elisir d'amore und mit diversen italienischen Opernhäusern und Orchestern.

Vertretung: Generalmanagement

Gesamte Bio anzeigen Zurück zum Intro     Download Bio    

Highlights der Saison 2019/20 waren die Saisoneröffnung an der Sydney Opera mit La Bohème, eine Neuproduktion von Guglielmo Tell an den Theatern des OperaLombardia-Verbundes und am Teatro Verdi in Pisa sowie eine konzerante Cavalleria rusticana mit Roberto Alagna und Aleksandra Kurzak in Palermo – als einzige Opernaufführung im Rahmen des Sommerfestials „Sotto una nuova luce“ am Teatro Massimo. Für die kommenden Saisons sind wir mit dem BBC Philharmonic über Goldsteins Debüt im Gespräch, mit der Sydney Opera über eine Wiedereinladung, mit dem Haifa Symphony Orchestra über eine Neuproduktion von L'elisir d'amore und mit diversen italienischen Opernhäusern und Orchestern.

2018 stand Carlo Goldstein erstmals am Pult der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden (mit Werken von Schönberg, Weber und Mendelssohn) und debütierte an der Sydney Opera mit Carmen sowie beim Daegu International Opera Festival in Korea mit Turandot. Nach einem Sinfoniekonzert mit Werken von Cresta, Prokofjew, Mahler und Rota wurde Goldstein am Teatro Petruzzelli in Bari für eine Neuproduktion von La Traviata wiedereingeladen. Seit 2014 führen ihn Wiedereinladungen regelmäßig nach Korea, zuletzt zum Seoul Arts Center und Busan Arts Center mit Madama Butterfly und La Traviata und zum Daegu Opera House mit Pagliacci.

In den letzten Spielzeiten dirigierte Goldstein in Italien am Teatro La Fenice in Venedig und an den Opernhäusern von Brescia, Como, Cremona, Livorno, Lucca, Pavia, Pisa und Reggio Emilia Werke wie Adriana Lecouvreur, Un ballo in maschera, La Bohème, Carmen, Così fan tutte, Turandot sowie Pagliacci beim Sommerfestival des Teatro Sociale di Como – eine Produktion, die mit dem renommierten Abbiati-Preis ausgezeichnet wurde. Beim Festival della Valle d'Itria leitete Goldstein die Uraufführung von L'Orfeo. Immagini di una lontananza von Daniela Terranova, basierend auf Luigi Rossis L’Orfeo von 1642.

Neben Sinfoniekonzerten in Italien z.B. beim Orchestra del Maggio Musicale führten ihn Einladungen auch zu Orchestern in Israel und Russland, u.a. zum Staatlichen Symphonieorchester St. Petersburg und zum Eremitage-Sinfonieorchester.

Zusätzlich zu seiner musikalischen Ausbildung (u.a. am Salzburger Mozarteum und am Royal College of Music London) erwarb Goldstein einen Abschluss in Philosophie (Ästhetik) an der Universität Mailand. Er hat mehrere Artikel über Ästhetik und Musikgeschichte veröffentlicht. 2009 wurde Carlo Goldstein beim Internationalen Dirigentenwettbewerb in Graz mit dem 1. Preis ausgezeichnet. Ein Portrait über ihn wurde in der Notevoli-Reihe vom Sender Classica produziert und auf Sky Italia ausgestrahlt. Omer Meir-Wellber entdeckte Goldstein als außerordentliches Talent und machte ihn zunächst zu seinem Assistenten in Valencia und Wien. Inzwischen verbindet beide eine regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit.

Carlo Goldstein erforscht die Werke, die er dirigiert, sehr gründlich. In der musikalischen Umsetzung sind ihm Lebendigkeit und Kohärenz wichtiger als Interpretations-Traditionen. Seine Interpretationen sind voller Wärme und Sensibilität und entfalten ihren besonderen Charme ohne falsche Erhabenheit. Opern dirigiert er meist auswendig, trägt seine Sänger dabei auf Händen und leitet sie und das Orchester mit sprühender Vitalität. Goldstein ist nicht nur ein versierter Dirigent italienischer Opern, sondern verfügt auch über eine profunde Kenntnis des – selbst entlegenen – sinfonischen Repertoires. Als Verfechter der zeitgenössischen Musik hat er zahlreiche Erstaufführungen von Werken italienischer und internationaler Komponisten geleitet, so unter anderem beim Milano Musica Festival oder mit dem MDI Ensemble.

Gesamte Bio anzeigen Zurück zum Intro     Download Bio