Yutaka Sado Conductor

Yutaka Sado Conductor

Kyoto-born maestro Yutaka Sado is considered to be one of the foremost Japanese conductors of our time. Since beginning of the season 2015/16 he is music director of the Tonkünstler-Orchester.

Be it the Berliner Philharmoniker, DSO Berlin, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Bayerisches Staatsorchester Munich, the Radio Symphony Orchestras of Munich (BR), Hamburg (NDR), Cologne (WDR), Vienna (ORF), Torino (RAI) and Copenhagen (Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra), Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Sächsische Staatskapelle, Tonhalle Orchester Zürich, London Symphony and London Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris, Orchestra di Santa Cecilia Roma, Verdi Symphony Orchestra Milan or Mahler Chamber Orchestra – the list of orchestras Yutaka Sado has conducted and will conduct again is impressive.

A long-time assistant to Leonard Bernstein and Seiji Ozawa, Yutaka Sado was awarded some of the most important conductor’s prizes like the Premier Grand Prix at the 39th International Conducting Competition in Besançon. Due to his close relationship to Bernstein he became 'conductor in residence' at the Pacific Music Festival in Sapporo.

Since 2005 Yutaka Sado is the Artistic Director of the Hyogo Performing Arts Center (HPAC) and of the HPAC's resident orchestra. HPAC has now established itself as Japan’s leading cultural institution with more than 70,000 subscribers. Sado's degree of popularity in Japan is tremendous, especially due to his appearance as conductor and main host in a weekly TV program, in which he brings Japanese music lovers deeper insights into the world of classical music.

Representations: Germany and Austria, further countries upon request

Show Full Bio Back to Intro     Download    

Yutaka Sado is one of the most important Japanese conductors of our time. Since the season 2015-16 he is Chief Conductor of the Tonkünstler-Orchester in Austria, where his contract has been extended already until including the season 2024-25.

After several years of assisting Leonard Bernstein and Seiji Ozawa, Yutaka Sado won such prestigious conducting prizes as the Grand Prix of the 39th «Concours international de jeunes chefs d'orchestre» in Besançon, France in 1989, and in 1995 the Grand Prix of the «Leonard Bernstein Jerusalem International Music Competition». His close ties with his mentor led to his appointment as Conductor in Residence at the Pacific Music Festival in Sapporo, which had been founded by Bernstein. At the «Leonard Bernstein Memorial Concert» in the cathedral of St. John the Divine in New York in December 1990, Yutaka Sado conducted alongside other Bernstein protégés.

Sado, born in Kyoto, has been Artistic Director of the Hyogo Performing Arts Center (PAC) and Chief Conductor of the PAC Orchestra since 2005. With around 60,000 subscribers and over half-a-million visitors per year, this concert house and theatre has become one of Japan's leading artistic venues. Yutaka Sado's popularity in Japan is enormous, not least thanks to the weekly TV program «Untitled Concert» that he presented from 2008 to 2015 and in which he brought the world of classical music closer to Japanese music enthusiasts. For almost 20 years now, he has been directing the annual performance of Beethoven's Ninth Symphony with 10,000 choir singers at a stadium in Osaka. The very popular «Daiku», which in English means «The Ninth» is directed by the Mainichi Broadcasting System (MBS), a major Japanese radio and television station. Yutaka Sado also regularly tours with his Super Kids Orchestra, founded in Hyogo in 2003, which promotes the most talented lower and middle school children from all over Japan as part of an exemplary music education programme. Since 2003, he has also been Principal Conductor of the Siena Wind Orchestra, one of the few professional wind orchestras in the world, which has been in existence since 1990.

Yutaka Sado's career outside Japan began in France, where he was Principal Conductor of the Orchestre Lamoureux in Paris from 1993 to 2010. For years, the charismatic orchestra leader has also been one of the favourite guest conductors of the Orchestre de Paris. In Turin he made his Italian opera debut in 2010 with «Peter Grimes» by Benjamin Britten in a production by Willy Decker. Since then he has been returning regularly to the Teatro Regio.

As part of his extensive concert engagements with the Tonkünstler-Orchester, he has toured Japan, England and – most recently - Germany with concerts at the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie, the Dresdener Kulturpalast and the Essen Philharmonie.

In the meantime Yutaka Sado has stood in front of numerous outstanding European orchestras. He has appeared with the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester and the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, the Bayerisches Staatsorchester in Munich and the radio symphony orchestras of the BR, NDR, SWR and WDR. Sado has conducted the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden, the Staatskapelle Weimar, the Dresden and Hamburg Philharmonic Orchestras, as well as the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra, the Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne and the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich. He has also appeared with the Orchestre de la Suisse-Romande, the London Symphony and the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the BBC Philharmonic, the Orchestre de Paris, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and the Orchestre National de France. In Italy he conducted the Orchestra di Santa Cecilia Roma, the RAI Torino, the Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi and the Orchestra of the Maggio Musicale Florence. Sado conducted the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington in January 2018, his debut in the USA.

Yutaka Sado’s many-faceted musical achievements have been documented in over 50 CDs and DVDs, and the Tonkünstler Orchestra have been successfully producing and releasing titles including «Ein Heldenleben» and the «Rosenkavalier» suite by Richard Strauss, Haydn’s Symphonies Nos. 4-6, Bruckner’s Symphonies No. 4 and 9, Sibelius’ Symphony No. 2 and «Finlandia», Haydn’s «Schöpfung» and Bernstein’s orchestral works.

Current as of 29.08.2019 (676 words / 4,395 characters incl. spaces) – Please use only the most current biography!

Show Full Bio Back to Intro     Download

Yutaka Sado Dirigent

Yutaka Sado Dirigent

Yutaka Sado, in Kyoto geboren, gilt als einer der bedeutendsten japanischen Dirigenten unserer Zeit. Seit der Saison 2015/16 ist er Chefdirigent des Tonkünstler-Orchesters.

Ob Berliner Philharmoniker, DSO Berlin, Konzerthausorchester, Bayerisches Staatsorchester, die Rundfunksinfonieorchester von BR, NDR, SWR und WDR, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden, London Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra oder Santa Cecilia Rom – die Liste der Orchester, die Sado dirigiert hat bzw. wieder dirigieren wird, ist beeindruckend.

Der langjährige Assistent von Leonard Bernstein und Seiji Ozawa gewann einige der weltweit wichtigsten Preise wie den Premier Grand Prix des 39. Internationalen Dirigierwettbewerbs Besançon und den Grand Prix du Concours International L. Bernstein Jerusalem. Seine enge Verbundenheit zu Bernstein führte ihn als ‘conductor in residence’ zu dessen Pacific Music Festival in Sapporo.

Seit 2005 ist Yutaka Sado Künstlerischer Direktor des Hyogo Performing Arts Centre (HPAC)und Chefdirigent des HPAC-Orchesters. Dieser Konzertsaal hat sich mit inzwischen mehr als 70.000 Zuschauern jährlich zu einem der bedeutendsten Konzertorte Japans entwickelt. Sados Bekanntheitsgrad in Japan ist enorm, nicht zuletzt dank seiner wöchentlichen TV-Sendung, in der er japanischen Musikfreunden als Dirigent und Moderator die Welt der klassischen Musik näher bringt.

Vertretung: Deutschland und Österreich, weitere Länder auf Anfrage

Gesamte Bio anzeigen Zurück zum Intro     Download    

Yutaka Sado ist einer der bedeutendsten japanischen Dirigenten unserer Zeit und seit der Saison 2015/16 Chefdirigent des Tonkünstler-Orchesters. Inzwischen wurde sein Vertag mit den Tonkünstlern bis einschließlich der Saison 2024/25 verlängert.

Nach mehrjährigen Assistenzen bei Leonard Bernstein und Seiji Ozawa gewann Yutaka Sado maßgebliche Dirigier-Preise wie 1989 den Grand Prix des 39. «Concours international de jeunes chefs d'orchestre» im französischen Besançon und 1995 den «Grand Prix des Leonard Bernstein Jerusalem International Music Competition». Seine enge Verbundenheit zu Leonard Bernstein führte ihn als Conductor in Residence auch zu dessen Pacific Music Festival in Sapporo. Beim «Leonard Bernstein Memorial Concert» in der Kathedrale von St. John the Divine in New York stand Yutaka Sado im Dezember 1990 neben weiteren Bernstein-Schülern am Pult.

Bereits seit 2005 ist der in Kyoto geborene Dirigent Künstlerischer Direktor des Hyogo Performing Arts Center (PAC) und Chefdirigent des PAC-Orchesters. Dieses Konzert- und Schauspielhaus hat sich mit etwa 60.000 Abonnenten jährlich zu einem der wichtigsten künstlerischen Veranstaltungsorte Japans entwickelt. Yutaka Sados Bekanntheitsgrad in Japan ist enorm, nicht zuletzt dank einer wöchentlichen TV-Sendung, in der er von 2008 bis 2015 als Dirigent und Moderator japanischen Musikfreunden die Welt der klassischen Musik näherbrachte. Seit fast 20 Jahren leitet er die alljährliche Aufführung von Beethovens neunter Symphonie mit 10.000 Chorsängerinnen und -sängern in einem Stadion in Osaka. Das «Daiku», auf Deutsch «Die Neunte», wird in der Regie des Mainichi Broadcasting System (MBS) durchgeführt, eines großen japanischen Hörfunk- und Fernsehsenders, und erfreut sich in Japan größter Beliebtheit. Mit seinem 2003 in Hyogo gegründeten Super Kids Orchestra, das die talentiertesten Schulkinder der Unter- und Mittelstufe aus ganz Japan im Rahmen eines vorbildlichen Musikerziehungsprogramms fördert, geht Yutaka Sado regelmäßig auf Tournee. Seit 2003 ist er auch Chefdirigent des bereits seit 1990 bestehenden, in Japan sehr populären Siena Wind Orchestra, eines der wenigen professionellen Blasorchester weltweit.

Yutaka Sados Karriere außerhalb Japans entwickelte sich zunächst vor allem in Frankreich, wo er von 1993 bis 2010 Chefdirigent des Orchestre Lamoureux in Paris war. Seit Jahren ist der charismatische Orchesterleiter auch einer der Lieblingsgastdirigenten des Orchestre de Paris. In Turin gab er 2010 sein italienisches Operndebüt mit «Peter Grimes» von Benjamin Britten in einer Inszenierung von Willy Decker. Seither kehrt er regelmäßig ans Teatro Regio zurück.

Im Rahmen seiner umfangreichen Konzertverpflichtungen beim Tonkünstler-Orchester führten ihn Konzerttourneen nach Japan, England und - zuletzt - Deutschland mit Konzerten in der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie, dem Dresdener Kulturpalast und der Essener Philharmonie.

Mittlerweile hat Yutaka Sado vor zahlreichen herausragenden europäischen Orchestern gestanden. Er gastierte bei den Berliner Philharmonikern, beim Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester und beim Konzerthausorchester Berlin, in München beim Bayerischen Staatsorchester sowie bei den Rundfunksinfonieorchestern des BR, NDR, SWR und WDR. Sado dirigierte das Mahler Chamber Orchestra, das Leipziger Gewandhausorchester, die Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden, die Staatskapelle Weimar, die Dresdner und die Hamburger Philharmoniker, ebenso die Bamberger Symphoniker, das Gürzenich-Orchester Köln und das Tonhalle Orchester Zürich. Weiterhin stand er am Pult des Orchestre de la Suisse-Romande, des London Symphony und des London Philharmonic Orchestra, des BBC Philharmonic, des Orchestre de Paris, des Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, des Orchestre National de France. In Italien leitete er das Orchestra di Santa Cecilia Rom, das RAI Torino, das Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi und das Orchester des Maggio Musicale Florenz. Sein USA-Debüt gab Yutaka Sado im Jahr 2018 beim National Symphony Orchestra Washington.

Über 50 CD-Aufnahmen dokumentieren das vielseitige künstlerische Schaffen Yutaka Sados. Im 2016 gegründeten Eigenlabel des Tonkünstler-Orchesters erscheinen bisher unter der Leitung von Yutaka Sado Eigenproduktionen und Live-Mitschnitte aus dem Wiener Musikverein wie «Ein Heldenleben» und die «Rosenkavalier»-Suite von Richard Strauss, Haydns Sinfonien Nr. 4-6, Bruckners Sinfonien Nr. 4 und 9, Sibelius‘ Sinfonien Nr. 2 und «Finlandia», Haydns «Schöpfung» und die Orchesterwerke von Leonard Bernstein.

Stand 29.08.2019 (610 Wörter, 4.538 Zeichen mit Leerzeichen) - Bitte verwenden Sie nur die aktuellste Biographie

Gesamte Bio anzeigen Zurück zum Intro     Download