Antti Siirala Piano

Antti Siirala Piano

“Siirala’s polished and intelligent pianism can hold its own in a catalogue overloaded with excellence.“ - Gramophone

„A pianist who really has something to say“ - FonoForum

The Finnish pianist, winner of numerous first prizes, including the Leeds, the London and the Dublin Competition, has established himself as one of the finest pianists of his generation. His rich palette of sound colours, his differentiated and songful phrasing and expressive intelligence are praised frequently. Antti Siirala performs with renowned conductors like Herbert Blomstedt, Esa-Pekka Salonen, François-Xavier Roth or Sakari Oramo and with international top orchestras or dedicates himself to chamber music with Jan Vogler and Baiba Skride or with Sharon Kam, Carolin Widmann and Tanja Tetzlaff. Lately, Antti Siirala gave his debut with the Belgrade Philharmonic played the German premiere of Thomas Adès’ Three Berceuses with Lawrence Power at the Moritzburg Festival. The upcoming season will see Antti return to the Nordic Chamber Orchestra, the Philharmonic Orchestra Mainz under Eva Ollikainen and to the Prague Symphony Orchestra under Pietari Inkinen.

Representations: General management

Show Full Bio Back to Intro     Download Bio English    

“Siirala’s polished and intelligent pianism can hold its own in a catalogue overloaded with excellence.“
Gramophone

“A pianist who really has something to say”
FonoForum

The Finnish pianist Antti Siirala has established himself as one of the finest pianists of his generation. His rich palette of sound colours, his differentiated and songful phrasing and expressive intelligence are praised frequently. Antti Siirala is the winner of numerous international competitions, including the Leeds International Piano Competition. In 1997 he won the International Beethoven Piano Competition Vienna as the youngest laureate in its history. This resulted in the performance of all Beethoven piano works at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki in the following years and a focus on Beethoven in Siirala's repertoire.

He performs with renowned conductors like Herbert Blomstedt, François-Xavier Roth, Esa-Pekka Salonen and Sakari Oramo, and with orchestras like the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Bamberger Symphoniker, the Radio Symphony Orchestras of HR, NDR, SWR and WDR, Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, Wiener Symphoniker, City of Birmingham Symphony, Philharmonia Orchestra London, Residentie Orkest, Gothenburg Symphony, Finnish Radio Symphony, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony and NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo. He regularly performs chamber music with partners like Carolin Widmann, Baiba Skride, Lawrence Power, Tanja Tetzlaff, Jan Vogler and Sharon Kam.

Milestones in his career were recitals in the piano series of the Berlin Philharmonic, at the Lucerne Festival and at the Ruhr Piano Festival, at concert halls like Cologne’s Philharmonie, London’s Wigmore Hall, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, at the Metropolitan Museum in New York or Zurich’s Tonhalle. Furthermore, Antti Siirala was artist in residence for three years at the Konzerthaus Dortmund, featured in its series Junge Wilde.

Recent highlights were his debut with the Belgrade Philharmonic with the Grieg Piano Concerto and the German premiere of Thomas Adès Three Berceuses with Lawrence Power at the Moritzburg Festival. The upcoming season will see Antti return to the Nordic Chamber Orchestra, the Philharmonic Orchestra Mainz under Eva Ollikainen and to the Prague Symphony Orchestra under Pietari Inkinen.

CD recordings, for which he received the Editor's Choice Award of Gramophone Magazine several times, were published by Sony (Schubert's Trout Quintet with newly composed variations) and Naxos (works by Brahms and Schubert transcriptions). Other recordings include the last three Beethoven sonatas (AVI-Music) and Beethoven's Triple Concerto (SONY, with The Knights, Colin Jacobsen and Jan Vogler).

Antti Siirala is professor for piano at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munich.

Show Full Bio Back to Intro     Download Bio English

Antti Siirala Klavier

Antti Siirala Klavier

“Siirala’s polished and intelligent pianism can hold its own in a catalogue overloaded with excellence.“ - Gramophone

„Ein Pianist, der wirklich etwas zu sagen hat“ - FonoForum

Der mit ersten Preisen zahlreicher internationaler Wettbewerbe, u.a. des Leeds-Wettbewerbs ausgezeichnete finnische Pianist hat sich als einer der besten Pianisten seiner Generation etabliert. Immer wieder wird seine reiche Palette von Klangschattierungen, seine differenzierte, sangliche Phrasierung und gestalterische Intelligenz gerühmt. Antti Siirala konzertiert mit renommierten Dirigenten wie Herbert Blomstedt, Esa-Pekka Salonen, François-Xavier Roth oder Sakari Oramo und mit internationalen Spitzenorchestern oder widmet sich der Kammermusik mit Jan Vogler und Baiba Skride oder mit Sharon Kam, Carolin Widmann und Tanja Tetzlaff. In letzter Zeit gab Antti Siirala sein Debüt bei den Belgrader Philharmonikern und spielte die deutsche Erstaufführung von Thomas Adès' Three Berceuses mit Lawrence Power beim Moritzburg Festival. In der kommenden Saison folgt er Wiedereinladungen u.a. zum Nordic Chamber Orchestra, zum Philharmonischen Orchester Mainz unter Eva Ollikainen und zu den Prager Symphonikern unter Pietari Inkinen.

Vertretung: Generalmanagement

Gesamte Bio anzeigen Zurück zum Intro     Download Bio deutsch    

“Siirala’s polished and intelligent pianism can hold its own in a catalogue overloaded with excellence.” Gramophone

„Ein Pianist, der wirklich etwas zu sagen hat“ FonoForum

Der finnische Pianist Antti Siirala hat sich als einer der besten Pianisten seiner Generation etabliert. Immer wieder werden seine reiche Palette von Klangschattierungen, seine differenzierte, sangliche Phrasierung und gestalterische Intelligenz gerühmt. Antti Siirala ist Preisträger zahlreicher internationaler Wettbewerbe, darunter der Leeds International Piano Competition. 1997 gewann er den Internationalen Beethoven Klavierwettbewerb Wien als jüngster Preisträger dessen Geschichte. Daraus resultierte in den Folgejahren die Aufführung aller Klavierwerke Beethovens an der Sibelius-Akademie in Helsinki und ein Beethoven-Schwerpunkt in Siiralas Repertoire.

Er musiziert mit namhaften Dirigenten wie Herbert Blomstedt, François-Xavier Roth, Esa-Pekka Salonen oder Sakari Oramo und Orchestern wie dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, den Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchestern von HR, NDR, SWR und WDR, den Bamberger Symphonikern, dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, den Wiener Symphonikern, dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, dem Philharmonia Orchestra London, dem Residentie Orkest, den Göteburger Symphonikern, dem Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, dem Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, der San Francisco Symphony und dem NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo. Zu Antti Siiralas Kammermusikpartnern zählen Carolin Widmann, Baiba Skride, Lawrence Power, Tanja Tetzlaff, Jan Vogler und Sharon Kam.

Meilensteine waren Recitals in der Klavierreihe der Berliner Philharmoniker, beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr und beim Lucerne Festival, in Konzerthäusern wie der Kölner Philharmonie, der Londoner Wigmore Hall, dem Concertgebouw Amsterdam, dem Metropolitan Museum New York oder der Tonhalle Zürich. Außerdem war Antti Siirala für drei Jahre Artist in Residence in der Reihe Junge Wilde des Konzerthauses Dortmund.

In letzter Zeit gab Antti Siirala sein Debüt bei den Belgrader Philharmonikern mit dem Grieg Klavierkonzert und spielte die deutsche Erstaufführung von Thomas Adès Three Berceuses mit Lawrence Power beim Moritzburg Festival. In der kommenden Saison folgt er Wiedereinladungen u.a. zum Nordic Chamber Orchestra, zum Philharmonischen Orchester Mainz unter Eva Ollikainen und zu den Prager Symphonikern unter Pietari Inkinen.

CD-Einspielungen, für die er mehrmals den Editor’s Choice Award des Gramophone Magazins erhielt, erschienen bei Sony (Schuberts Forellenquintett mit neukomponierten Variationen) sowie bei Naxos (Werke von Brahms und Schubert-Transkriptionen). Weitere Aufnahmen sind die drei letzten Beethoven-Sonaten (AVI-Music) und Beethovens Tripelkonzert (SONY, mit The Knights, Colin Jacobsen und Jan Vogler).

Antti Siirala unterrichtet als Professor für Klavier an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München.

Gesamte Bio anzeigen Zurück zum Intro     Download Bio deutsch