Anika Vavic Piano

Anika Vavic Piano

"I consider Anika Vavic to be an extraordinarily gifted pianist."
Mariss Jansons

"Great talent, brilliant technique and smart and passionate playing."
Zubin Mehta

Recent highlights include the German premiere of Shshedrin's Piano Concerto No. 4 with the Staatskapelle Weimar under Kirill Karabits, the Italian premiere of Kanchelis Sio in combination with Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No. 2 in Milan, her Berlin debut with the Konzerthausorchester under Yutaka Sado with Rachmaninoff's Paganini Rhapsody, and the performance of Bernstein's Age of Anxiety with the RSO Vienna under Markus Poschner.

Representations: Germany, Austria and Switzerland, further countries upon request

Show Full Bio Back to Intro     Download Bio English    

“Terrific playing. Anika Vavic is convincing not only in the aesthetic of her cultured sound, but also in the transparent manner in which she shapes the stylistic and formal variety of the compositions – with an expressive power that misses no nuance.” Süddeutsche Zeitung

Recent highlights were the German premiere of Shchedrin's Piano Concerto No. 4 with the Staatskapelle Weimar under Kirill Karabits, the Italian premiere of Kanchelis Sio in combination with Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No. 2 in Milan, her Berlin debut with the Konzerthausorchester under Yutaka Sado with Rachmaninoff's Paganini Rhapsody, and the performance of Bernstein's Age of Anxiety with the RSO Vienna under Markus Poschner.

This season she dedicates herself mainly to works by Prokofiev, Grieg and Rachmaninoff, which she performs with the Residentie Orkest Den Haag under Jun Märkl, the National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra under Kristjan Järvi in Taipei and the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra in Lisbon. In Germany she will be performing in Würzburg, Konstanz and Heidelberg.

Anika Vavic regularly appears at the Musikverein and Konzerthaus in Vienna. Recitals have taken her to halls such as Carnegie Hall, Wigmore Hall, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Cologne’s Philharmonie, the Cité de la Musique in Paris, Luxembourg’s Philharmonie, Barcelona’s Palau de la Música, and to the Baden-Baden Festspielhaus. She also performs at festivals including the White Nights in St. Petersburg, the Piano Festival Ruhr, Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, Grafenegg Festival, Heidelberger Frühling, Styriarte Graz, Klangbogen Wien, Istanbul Music Festival, Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad, Enescu Festival in Bucharest and the BBC Proms.

Anika Vavic works with orchestras such as the Mariinsky Orchestra, the London and Munich Philharmonic, the Vienna, Frankfurt, Leipzig and Belgrade Radio Symphony Orchestras and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, collaborating with conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Paavo Järvi, Vladimir Jurowski and Andrés Orozco-Estrada. Her chamber music partners include Gautier Capuçon, Rainer Honeck, Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Matthias Schorn, the Quintette Aquilon and the Artis Quartet, as well as Renaud Capuçon and Daniel Müller-Schott.

Born in Belgrade, Anika Vavic studied in Vienna with Noel Flores at the University of Music and Performing Arts. She also received important artistic impulses from Elisabeth Leonskaja, Lazar Berman, Oleg Maisenberg, Alexander Satz and Mstislav Rostropovich. In 2001 she won the Second Steinway Competition in Vienna, receiving a further special prize for the best interpretation of Haydn.

Anika Vavic's core repertoire includes Russian composers of the 19th and 20th centuries as well as contemporary music, for example the piano concerto Requiem for Piano, Strings and Membranophone, dedicated to her by the Chinese-Austrian composer Shih, whose Piano Quintet she also premiered. In 2005 the pianist took on the solo part in the world premiere of Johannes Maria Staud’s Peras. Music for Piano at the Piano Festival Ruhr. In addition, Kalevi Aho, Vlastimir Trajkovic, Galina Ustvolskaya, Henryk Gorecki and especially Rodion Shchedrin are among her favourite contemporary composers. Together with the Mariinsky Orchestra under Valery Gergiev she also played the Russian and Austrian premiere of Shchedrin's Piano Concerto No. 4.

Current as of 14.11.2018 (3,338 characters incl. spaces) – Please use only the most recent biography!

For more information see www.anikavavic.com

Show Full Bio Back to Intro     Download Bio English

Anika Vavic Klavier

Anika Vavic Klavier

„Außerordentliches Talent“
Mariss Jansons

„Außergewöhnliche Begabung, brillante Technik, kluges und leidenschaftliches Spiel“
Zubin Mehta

Highlights waren zuletzt die deutsche Erstaufführung von Schtschedrins 4. Klavierkonzert mit der Staatskapelle Weimar unter Kirill Karabits, die italienische Erstaufführung von Kanchelis Sio in Kombination mit Schostakowitschs 2. Klavierkonzert in Mailand, ihr Berlin-Debüt beim Konzerthausorchester unter Yutaka Sado mit Rachmaninows Paganini-Rhapsodie sowie die Aufführung von Bernsteins Age of Anxiety mit dem RSO Wien unter Markus Poschner.

Vertretung: Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz und weitere Länder auf Anfrage

Gesamte Bio anzeigen Zurück zum Intro     Download Bio deutsch    

„Grandioses Spiel. Anika Vavic überzeugt nicht nur durch eine ästhetische Klangkultur, sondern auch durch eine transparente Gestaltung der stilistischen und formalen Vielfalt der Kompositionen geradezu mit einer Gestaltungskraft, der keine Nuance entgeht.“ Süddeutsche Zeitung

Highlights waren zuletzt die deutsche Erstaufführung von Schtschedrins 4. Klavierkonzert mit der Staatskapelle Weimar unter Kirill Karabits, die italienische Erstaufführung von Kanchelis Sio in Kombination mit Schostakowitschs 2. Klavierkonzert in Mailand, ihr Berlin-Debüt beim Konzerthausorchester unter Yutaka Sado mit Rachmaninows Paganini-Rhapsodie sowie die Aufführung von Bernsteins Age of Anxiety mit dem RSO Wien unter Markus Poschner.

Den Schwerpunkt in dieser Saison bilden Werke von Prokofjew, Grieg und Rachmaninow, mit denen sie unter anderem beim Residentie Orkest Den Haag unter Jun Märkl, beim National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra unter Kristjan Järvi in Taipei und mit dem Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester in Lissabon gastiert. In Deutschland wird sie in Würzburg, Konstanz und Heidelberg zu erleben sein.

Als regelmäßiger Gast im Wiener Musikverein und Wiener Konzerthaus führten sie Recitals auch in Säle wie die Carnegie Hall, die Wigmore Hall, das Concertgebouw Amsterdam, die Kölner Philharmonie, die Cité de la Musique, die Philharmonie Luxembourg, zum Palau de la Musica und zum Festspielhaus Baden-Baden. Außerdem konzertiert sie bei Festivals wie den White Nights in St. Peterburg, dem Klavierfestival Ruhr, der Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, dem Grafenegg Festival, dem Heidelberger Frühling, der Styriarte Graz, dem Klangbogen Wien, dem Istanbul Music Festival, dem Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad, dem Enescu Festival in Bukarest und den BBC Proms.

Anika Vavic arbeitet mit Orchestern wie dem Mariinsky Orchester, dem London Philharmonic, den Münchner Philharmonikern, den Radio-Symphonieorchestern Wien, Frankfurt, Leipzig und Belgrad, dem Scottish Chamber Orchestra und mit Dirigenten wie Valery Gergiev, Paavo Järvi, Vladimir Jurowski und Andrés Orozco-Estrada. Zu ihren Kammermusik-Partnern zählen Gautier Capuçon, Rainer Honeck, Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Matthias Schorn, das Quintette Aquilon und das Artis Quartett sowie Renaud Capuçon und Daniel Müller-Schott.

Gebürtig in Belgrad studierte Anika Vavic in Wien bei Noel Flores an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst. Wichtige künstlerische Impulse erhielt sie durch Elisabeth Leonskaja, Lazar Berman, Oleg Maisenberg, Alexander Satz und Mstislaw Rostropowitsch. 2001 gewann sie den Steinway-Wettbewerb in Wien und erhielt den Sonderpreis für die beste Haydn-Interpretation.

Zu Anika Vavics Kernrepertoire gehören neben russischen Komponisten des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts auch Werke der zeitgenössischen Musik, z. B. das ihr gewidmete Klavierkonzert des chinesisch-österreichischen Komponisten Shih Requiem für Klavier, Streicher und Membranophon und sein Klavierquintett. 2005 übernahm die Pianistin den Solopart in der Uraufführung von Johannes Maria Stauds Peras. Musik für Klavier beim Klavierfestival Ruhr. Darüber hinaus zählen Kalevi Aho, Vlastimir Trajkovic, Galina Ustwolskaja, Henryk Gorecki und vor allem Rodion Schtschedrin zu ihren bevorzugten zeitgenössischen Komponisten. Gemeinsam mit dem Mariinsky Orchester unter Valery Gergiev spielte sie auch die russische und österreichische Erstaufführung von Schtschedrins 4. Klavierkonzert.

Weitere Infos unter www.anikavavic.com 

Stand 26.09.2018 (3.406 Zeichen mit Leerzeichen) – Bitte verwenden Sie nur die aktuellste Biographie. Der Text darf nicht ohne unsere Zustimmung gekürzt werden.

Gesamte Bio anzeigen Zurück zum Intro     Download Bio deutsch